Rewards Gained by Killing Xpers

Started 27 May 2020
by Mefkur
in Tavern
Hello everyone,

I am kinda new in the server and have been suffering from many xper killers during my time. Even tho i like the danger sense during xping in NF or DF, i find it very much disturbing to see the /stats of these xper killers with lots of rps.

This guy was killing my lvl 23 toon and other 20s around for a while. he made 20 in 2 hrs by killing lvl 20s and participation reward.

https://imgur.com/a/q0cZrBt

I think it should not be so much rewarding to kill xpers. what do you think?
Wed 27 May 2020 1:54 PM by Ele
Hi,

the mentioned Player is a RR3 Skald and earned 12k task rp and 8k rp from killing players over a timespan of 2 hours. As you don't get rps from killing sub lvl 35 (aka grey) players, he must have killed players above that level too. I'm not sure if greys count towards deathblows/player kills that earned rp count, but he can't have just been killing lvl 20's for getting kill rps. Even if I agree that it is not really challenging to kill sub 50 players, the rps for this are already reduced and scale with the level of the player. In addition to that, task rewards - participation and bonus - offer diminishing returns with higher RR. While it is a nice boost for low RR's, killing xpers becomes less and less rewarding, and the ones who stick to it at higher ranks don't care for the reward at all. Reasons for still killing xpers might be things like realm pride, red is dead, trolling, having fun, drawing attention etc.
Summary: Being ganked is surely annoying, but I regard the the system - killing sub 35 players rewards nothing, sub 50 players reward reduced rps - as not in dire need of adjustment.
Wed 27 May 2020 3:06 PM by Uthred
Killing greys rewards you with nothing but "some reputation", but no rps nor do they count for any title/stats.
Thu 28 May 2020 12:36 PM by Luluko