Relics vs Raids

Started 12 Sep 2020
by ProteusWest
in Albion
I am still a relative newcomer to this server and I have played exclusively on Albion so far, but I've noticed a trend that is fairly detrimental to the realm. First, my background, and then my observations on what is happening here.

I started playing on day 1 of DAoC as a member of a Hibernian guild which was well known for being one of the most active and powerful RvR guilds on the server. We did the dirty work when it came to keeps, relics, and realm defense. Often, other realms would see one cloak from our guild on the wall of a keep, and regardless of numbers, they'd turn away and leave. Not a one of us who wasn't a caster went out into the Frontiers without a ram or wood that we bought with our own money.

Despite that reputation, our guild was also the primary organizer for PvE raids on the server, helping to equip members of our alliance, guild, and realm. If we had a Legion raid scheduled at 6PM, we all knew that we were expected to be there for RvR to open DF a couple of hours before that. Since we ran both PvE and RvR, we were uniquely situated to do that.

Here's the thing about Albion on Phoenix: we don't have a single guild who does both. Let me say that it's great to see Polemo, Ponos, and Leroy out there leading the RvR BG, getting relics, protecting them, and doing the work for the realm. It's also great for a new person who hasn't templated and who has only been on the server a few weeks to have the opportunity to attend the PvE raids that Grimdozer, Solicfear, and others have put together. Everyone should appreciate what each of these people do for the realm.