Salvaging Guide for new players

Started 24 Jan 2019
by scilly
in Crafting

Hello, I have been asked many times by guild members on the best way to level salvage that is both time effective and cost effective. So today i set about on a new char to max all salvaging skills for the least amount of money.

If you do not understand the crafting system i suggest you to check out this amazing post by Mura

The basics of Salvaging.

This guide teaches you how to skill up the required trade skills to salvage drops while you grind xp. For complete newbies this means once you have these skills maxed out you can salvage all drops to get a better return in gold. Metal and Wood can be trinketed into items and sold for a higher value to merchants that the base materials or the original item you salvaged, for cloth and leather you can either save to raise tailoring cheaper or sell directly to merchant for profit. i dont advice trinketing the cloth and leather as you have to purchase thread to trinket these items.

I will break this down in to 2 guides,

1. For just metal and wood salvage.
  2. For LGM in Cloth, Metal, Leather and Woodworking.

Before i start all timescales are based on using 4 crafting quest items and all cost values will be subject to change based on rng of skill gains so please keep that in mind.

Macros used are as follows

/macro 10 /craftqueue buy 10 (provided you have the correct merchant will purchase materials for 10 crafts)
/macro 60 /craftqueue 60 ( will craft the item after you click this macro 60 times or untill you run out of materials)
/macro 1 /moveitem sell #bag1
/macro 2 /moveitem sell #bag2
/macro 3 /moveitem sell #bag3
/macro 4 /moveitem sell #bag4
/macro 5 /moveitem sell #bag5

Make sure you have removed all items you dont want to sell from you backpack before using the sell macros!

Craft these in the order they are listed!

1) Metal and Wood Salvage

Craft Skill Cost Time Taken
Tailoring 300 12g 30mins
Woodworking 300 4g 15mins