Starting Crafting: An overview

Started 24 Jan 2019
by Mura
in Crafting
I've had quite a few people in game ask me about crafting, and trying to understand how to craft here on Phoenix, so I figured I'd write up a real quick overview on crafting and how to get started. I am not a professional writer, and I don't typically make guides, but hopefully this poorly formatted collection of thoughts will help somebody out and at the very least get them on the right track.

How to get started

First things first, visit any crafting trainer to learn a trade, it doesn't matter which one, the only difference is your title, but you can change this at any time by speaking to a different trainer.

Once you've unlocked trades, at the bottom of your specializations menu you'll find icons for all the various tradeskills, these can be dragged to a hotbar to open the crafting menus. There are 2 general types of trades, primary and secondaries. Primary skills typically make items to be used by players, secondaries (mostly) make trinkets that you sell to vendors to make cash from salvaged raw materials.

Primary skills:
Armorcraft
Fletching
Tailoring
Weaponcraft
Alchemy
Spellcrafting

Secondary skills:
Clothworking
Leatherworking
Metalworking
Woodworking

Secondary skills cannot exceed your combined primary skills.

You'll see icons for Siegecraft, Gemcutting, and Herbcraft, but these can be safely ignored as they do not require skilling up.

Macros:

Before you actually start crafting, here are some helpful macros I've used to make leveling a trade even easier.

Buy 5 macro: /macro buy5 /craftqueue buy upto 5
This will buy enough materials from the merchant you have targeted, provided they are in range and sell the materials required, to make up to 5 of the last craft you attempted.

Craft 5 macro: /macro 5 /craftqueue 5
This will craft up to 5 of the next craft you attempt

Sell all of bag 1 macro: /macro sell1 /moveitem sell #bag1