Beginner guide?

Started 5 Feb 2019
by benderrodriguez
in PvE
Hey everyone, I'm new to the game although I played a really long time ago. I don't remember anything at all about the game. I'm doing fine so far, but I feel like there are a lot of game mechanics I still don't understand, simply because I haven't encountered them yet. Is there any kind of beginner guide or summary to read up on for someone who is basically brand new to them game? Something with frequently used terminology, tips, and general rules of thumb for item/equipment usage and what to do with money.

Thanks!
Wed 6 Feb 2019 7:15 AM by Koljar
Don't think there is a general guide but I'll try to put some stuff together:
Equip the best stuff in each slot, QOL changes on Phoenix made equipping your char a lot easier. Lots of stuff drops, sell it all then later use the gold for some crafting and/or items from housing.
Don't start crafting right away - try to get used to the actual playing mechanics first, extra activities later.
Don't spread your points out (e.g. don't put points in crush, slash AND thrust as a paladin - pick one; feel free to respec on your way to 50 if you find a new/better weapon of a different dmg type tho...). You get free respecs until lvl 50 or RR3 (whichever you reach first).
Stick with one line as a caster (check the charplan above and search the forum for a general idea of what is most useful for which caster).
Let your groupmates know that you don't (yet) know what you're doing - most groups have at least one player that has a better idea of the game. It'll also warn them of weird actions of yours in advance

Read through the forum, search for a spedific class if you've chosen one. Also ok: Look up OLD daoc posts in other forums. They usually give you an aidea of what classes where played like back in 2003 (or so).