Swoop members banned for 1 day and reset of RPs

Started 19 Apr 2019
by Jodocus_Quak
in RvR
Grünesschaf reasoned:
Due to the small size of their guild and therefore very high ratio of confirmed third party tool users we are assuming that the other members were at least in the know and for that the entire remaining guild members of Swoop will be banned for 1 day and have the RP reset of their Midgard characters.

I am a lawyer IRL and it doesnt sit well with me using an assumption for a punishment. A reasoning built on an assumption would never hold water in a real court of law. The connection Grünesschaf uses for the punishment of all members is the guild membership and the small size of the guild.

Did all members play at the time the usage of the third party program was first detected? If not, how can Grünesschaaf prove that all members knew about the usage and were in cahoots? What if a member hasnt played for a long time and didnt know about the usage? What if a new member didnt know about it and now has his RPs reset? Can Grünesschaf prove beyond reasonable doubt that all members knew?

Sure, the Devs can do whatever suits them with their server. They can assume and act upon it. But the users can leave the server too, if they dont want that a dev one day decides to ban them or resets their RPs.

Edit: Having thought about that more, I dont want to be part of any project that acts upon assumptions, ie decides arbitrarily. Bye.

Edit2: Ich sehe gerade, dass die Anbieterkennzeichnung auf der Homepage fehlt, obwohl der Server in Deutschland steht. Werden die Anforderungen des TMG, RStV oder der DSGVO eingehalten (Geschäftsmäßigkeit ist weiter als Gewerbsmäßigkeit; Daten werden verarbeitet und gespeichert). Das allein ist shady AF.
Fri 19 Apr 2019 7:14 PM by Doiri
this isn't a legal case and you can't expect the devs of a private server to look through a potential myriad of chatlogs and whatnot to determine which guild members knew about the tools some of them used.